The Garden of Eating

20 Jun

Let me begin by saying: I’m not a gardener. However, upon inheriting a garden that looks like the above, one is forced to take action. At any rate, surely it couldn’t get any worse?

I must confess, I did get a bit trigger-happy with the clippers and by autumn last year our garden did look a trifle post-apocalyptic. Everything was, ahem, severely pruned and I adopted the ‘if it dies, then it wasn’t meant to live’ approach. Yes, I am a heartless wench.

 It came as something of a relief this spring, though, to see first buds, then leaves appearing on the naked stumps, and I have to admit to being seriously impressed with the resilience shown by our garden flora. Not only have our hardy trees, plants and bushes managed to live, they are already developing edible delights for later on in the year. Hooray!

One of our trees is a curious little number called a kvædetræ, which bears fruit that is half pear half apple. I’ve never tasted kvæde before but my Danish mother-in-law has some recipes lined up for when the fruit is ripe.

As if that wasn’t enough, my delight was compounded by the appearance of my potato plants. A few weeks ago I was gifted some potatoes which were to be planted in the garden. Having no previous form in vegetable-growing, I was a little sceptical about my ability to plant and nurture a vegetable all the way from seed to dinner plate, but I can report that phase one is complete. Phew! Now the pressure is on to defend my tatties from marauding snails, although they seem to be drawn to the hostas for the time being. I will keep them under surveillance and have cheap beer and a saucer on standby, just in case.

 Den Mave Have

Lad mig begynde med at sige: ‟Jeg er ikke gartner”. Imidlertid, når man arver en have, der ser ud som den ovenover, er man tvunget til at skride til handling. I hvert fald, det kunne ikke blive værre, vel?

Jeg må tilstå, jeg blev lidt “klippegal” med havesaksen, og sidste efterår så vores have en lille smule post-apokalyptisk ud. Alt var, hrmm, alvorligt skåret tilbage efter metoden: ‛Hvis det dør, så var det ikke meningen, at det skulle leve’. Ja, jeg er en hård tøs.

Det kom alligevel som noget af en lettelse ved forårstid at se de første knopper, og derefter blade vise sig på de nøgne stumper. Jeg skal indrømme, at jeg var virkelig imponeret over den robusthed, som vores have flora fremviste. Ikke nok med at vores hårdføre træer, planter og buske overlevede, men der er allerede tegn på lækkerier til senere på året. Hurra!

Et af vores træer er en besynderlig lille sag, der   hedder et kvædetræ, som bærer frugt, der er halv pære og halvt æble. Jeg har aldrig før smagt kvæde, men min svigermor har nogle opskrifter på bedding, når frugtene er modne.

Som om det ikke var nok, var min glæde endnu større, da mine kartoffelplanter dukkede op. For et par uger siden var jeg blevet begavet med nogle kartofler, der skulle plantes ude i haven. Da jeg ikke har nogen tidligere erfaring med grøntsags-dyrkning, var jeg lidt skeptisk over for mine evner til at plante og opelske en grøntsag fra frø til tallerken, men jeg kan rapportere, at fase ét er fuldført. Puha! Nu er der pres på for at forsvare mine kartofler mod plyndrende snegle, selv om de synes at blive tiltrykket af hostaerne for øjeblikket. Jeg skal holde dem under opsyn og har billig øl og en underkop på standby for alle tilfældes skyld.

(Vores have som den ser ud i dag…)

One Response to “The Garden of Eating”

  1. perth food photography June 21, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    looks like a beautiful place to be x

    Like

Leave a Reply

