September Song

10 Sep

A new term is underway and whilst I’ve been buried under a pile of texbooks, autumn has tentatively begun to creep in. There’s a freshness to the morning air and spiders’ webs laden with dew are draped across every available tree and shrub.

On my travels I’ve noticed elderberries beginning to ripen, although I’ll have to wait a wee while before they’re ready for making juice from.

The farmers have been busy in the fields and all the crops have been harvested – in perfect conditions according to the news – and I’m now surrounded by a patchwork of stubble and newly-ploughed fields.

I always feel a little melancholic in the autumn. Maybe it’s something to do with the fading light and the diminishing window of opportunity, “before the weather turns bad,” and so I find myself cosying down like a little field mouse in it’s nest, preparing for winter.

Since my understanding of the Danish language has sufficiently improved, I can now listen to the radio and read newspapers and actually understand a fair amount. In short, I can connect with the outside world of Denmark from the comfort of my own home. Great! To this end I have bought a variety of newspapers to hunker down with this weekend. I’m hoping to find something that will suit me in the long term, as there’s something deliciously satisfying about curling up on the couch with a cup of coffee and a good newspaper.

Aside from all this cerebral self-improvement I have found time for the enjoyment of  traditional Danish cuisine, most recently the Dannebrog cake. What can I say? If you like strawberries you’ll love this! Although referred to as a cake, the Dannebrog is more like a tart with a shortbread-like crust. Onto the crust is loaded all the good stuff, including strawberries, cream and some sort of jellyish stuff. It doesn’t really matter because it somehow all mixes together and forms a delicious goo, or what the Danes call snask. As well as the proverbial song, the Danish flag (Dannebrog) is a prerequisite for any celebration, and what could be better than an edible one?

September Sang

Et nyt semester er undervejs, og mens jeg har været begravet under en bunke læsebøger, er efteråret stille og roligt begyndt at krybe ind. Der er friskhed i morgenluften, og edderkoppespinde, der er dækkede af dug, er draperet ud over hver tilgængeligt træ og busk.

På mine ture har jeg lagt mærke til hyldebær, der er begyndt at blive modne, selv om jeg må vente et stykke tid, før jeg kan lave saft af dem.

 

Landmændene har haft travlt i markerne, og høsten er i hus. Ifølge dem var omstændighederne perfekte, og nu er jeg omgivet af et kludetæppe af stubmarker og nypløjede-marker.

 

Jeg føler mig altid lidt melankolsk om efteråret. Måske har det noget at gøre med det svindende lys og de indsnævrede muligheder, før vejret bliver dårligt. Altså finder jeg mig selv i færd med at skabe hygge ligesom en lille markmus i sin rede der forbereder sig til vinteren.

Da min forståelse af det danske sprog nu har udviklet sig, kan jeg lytte til radioen og læse aviser og forstå ganske meget. Kort sagt kan jeg komme i forbindelse med den omkringliggende verden af Danmark hjemmefra. Fedt!  Af den grund har jeg købt et udvalg af aviser til at hygge mig med denne weekend. Jeg håber at finde noget, der passer mig godt i det lange løb, fordi der er noget fantastisk tilfredsstillende ved at tage sofaen på ryggen sammen med en kop kaffe og en god avis.

Ud over al den intellektuelle selvstændige forbedring har jeg fundet tid til at nyde det traditionelle danske køkken. Det seneste var en dannebrogskage. Hvad kan jeg sige? Hvis du kan lide jordbær, vil du elske den! Selv om der refereres til den som en kage, er den mere som en tærte med en shortbread-agtig bund. På bunden ligger alt det gode, deriblandt jordbær, fløde og en slags gele. Det betyder ikke så meget, fordi på en eller anden måde blander det sig sammen og bliver til en rigtig smagfuld snask.  Sammen med den obligatoriske sang er det danske flag en bydende nødvendighed ved enhver fejring. Og hvad kunne være bedre end én, man kan spise?

4 Responses to “September Song”

  1. Sheena September 11, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I love your blog! It’s a real window on your new life in Denmark. One request…. Can you write more often? X

    Like

    • Beesas September 12, 2012 at 5:04 am #

      Thank you! Believe me, I would like to write more often… 🙂

      Like

  2. Katie Punter September 10, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    I really do enjoy your updates from Denmark! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

