Flea Markets and Ford Mustangs…

16 Sep

Over the course of my residence in Denmark, I have leafed my way through many lifestyle and women’s magazines, and from these I have gleaned three major rules for interior design in the Danish home:

1. All walls, woodwork, ceilings, etc must be painted white. Other colours are acceptable but must be restricted to the lightest shade available.

2. All flooring must be wooden or wood effect. Carpets are permissable only in the form of a rug.

3. Furnishings must include at least one flea market find per home.

I was recently at a flea market which ran the full length of a street in an affluent area of town where all the residents were out selling their unwanted treasures.

Aside from the usual bric-a-brac there could also be found hand crafts, books, bikes – all sorts of great stuff. Even something for the more discerning bargain hunter:

A must for the dining room, no?

Last year, at the same flea market, I came across a pair of these beauties for only a couple of pounds:

As I have now parked my posterior upon them over a period of 12 months, I can confirm that Danish design is not only stylish but very comfortable, too.

Having brought these flea market-finds into our white-walled, wooden-floored home I can safely relax in the knowledge that I am appropriately integrated into Danish interior design society.

Loppemarkeder og lækre biler

I løbet af mit ophold i Danmark, har jeg bladet igennem mange forskellige livsstils- og damemagasiner. Fra dem har jeg indsamlet tre vigtige regler om indendørs design i den danske bolig:

1. Alle vægge, lofter osv, må males hvide. Andre farver tillades men strengt begrænset til den lysest mulige nuance.

2. Alle gulve skal være i træ eller med træ-effekt. Tæpper tillades kun i form af småtæpper.

3. Boligudstyr skal inkludere mindst ét loppemarkedsfund.

Jeg var for nylig til et loppemarked, der strakte sig hele vejen langs en gade i et velstående område i byen, og alle beboerne var ude for at sælge alle deres uønskede skatte.

Foruden det almindelige nips kunne der findes håndarbejde, bøger, cykler – alle slags dejlige ting. Selv noget til den mere kræsne tilbudsjæger:

En absolut nødvendighed til spisestuen, hva’?

Sidste år, på det samme loppemarked, fandt jeg disse skønheder for kun et par kroner:

Da jeg har parkeret min popo i dem i løbet af de sidste 12 måneder, kan jeg bekræfte, at dansk design ikke bare er stilfuldt men også ekstremt mageligt.

Efter at jeg har bragt loppemarkedsfunden ind i vores hvid-væggede, træ-gulvede hjem, kan jeg slappe af i vished om, at jeg er passende integreret i det danske indendørs design-samfund.

Leave a Reply

