The Road to Hell…

24 Sep


I have a fairly sizeable list of things I intend to to, many of which have imminent deadlines.The problem is, I keep being seduced by autumn. It’s the light – it’s so amazing I keep noticing things then have to go and take a closer look. This of course leads to me completely losing track of time and forgetting what I was doing or about to do. For instance yesterday I forgot all about breakfast (a previously unheard of occurrence).

Even on days when it’s raining and the sky is weighed down with steel-grey clouds, the light is entrancing. There’s something about it that makes those dull reds and oranges of the dying leaves burn with an intensity that I find utterly compelling.

Then there are days like today when the sky is deep blue and the sunshine makes everything shimmer with gold and I simply have to be outside.

It would appear that I’m not safe, whatever the weather so I might as well accept that normal services will be suspended until at least winter.

This afternoon I did manage to get busy in the kitchen (my husband was watching Formula 1 – it’s such a good motivator for me to find something interesting to do!) and finally got round to making jelly from the grapes in our greenhouse. We’ve inherited the most prolific vine I’ve ever seen and I’m determined to not let those lovely juicy grapes go to waste.

Of course, when you make jam it goes without saying that you have to make scones, too. Unfortunately clotted cream is not to be had in Denmark, so it will have to suffice that I’m close-enough-for-jazz to heaven…

Vejen til helvede…

Jeg har en temmelig anselig seddel med ting, jeg har i sinde at gøre, og mange af dem har en nært forstående deadline. Problemet er, at jeg gentagne gange er blevet forledt af efteråret. Det er lyset – det er så forunderligt, at jeg lægger mærke til ting og skal kigge tættere på. Selvfølgelig fører det til, at jeg glemmer tiden og glemmer alt det, jeg var ved at gøre. For eksempel glemte jeg i går helt morgenmaden (en uhørt hændelse tidligere).

Selv på dage, da det regner, og himlen er tynget ned af stål-grå skyer, er lyset betagende. Der er noget ved det, der bevirker, at det matte røde og orange i de døende blade brænder med en intensitet, jeg finder aldeles tvingende.

Så er der dage ligesom i dag, da himlen er mørkeblå, og solskinnet bevirker, at alt flimrer, som var det dækket af guld, og jeg må simpelthen være udenfor.

Det viser sig, at jeg ikke er sikker, hvordan vejret end bliver. Jeg kan lige så godt acceptere, at jeg ikke er, som jeg plejer at være – i det mindste indtil vinteren.

I eftermiddags lykkedes det mig at få travlt i køkkenet. Min mand så Formel 1 – det er en rigtig god måde at motivere mig til at finde noget spændende at gøre – og jeg nåede endelig til at lave syltetøj af vindruerne fra vores drivhus. Vi har arvet den mest frugtbare vinranke, jeg nogensinde har set, og jeg er fast besluttet på ikke at tillade disse dejlige saftfulde vindruer at gå til spilde.

Når man laver syltetøj, behøver man ikke at sige, at man også skal lave scone. Selvfølgelig skal man det. Desværre kan clotted cream ikke købes i Danmark, så det her må være tilstrækkeligt tæt på himmelen.

2 Responses to “The Road to Hell…”

  1. jenlynch September 24, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Awesome, but I must tell you what I found this weekend in Copenhagen….CLOTTED CREAM! I didn’t buy any, but it was a big suprise to see it. It was in a small market near Nørebro, far enough away that we won’t be making a trip just to get that!! Freeze some of those scones…and I’ll bring the tea pot!! The leaves are amazing too, I love this time of year!

    Like

    • Beesas September 24, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      Well, that’s encouraging! If clotted cream has reached Copenhagen surely it’s only a matter of time before it makes it’s way to the rest of DK! Scones duly frozen… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

