From hyldebær to hygge

5 Oct

“The nights are fairly drawing in,” as folk from my Highland homeland would say, and the weather has indeed taken a decidedly Scottish turn i.e. grey and quite rainy. Despite this the sun is still managing to break through from time to time, albeit in a diluted form, and all the ripened berries are gleaming like jewels.

 So much so, in fact, that I could no longer fight the urge to out there and pick the elderberries which have been tantalizing me for some weeks.

If elderflower juice welcomes the beginning of summer, then elderberry juice heralds the arrival of autumn. Last week I set about making my own elderberry juice and the outcome has been deemed a success by my Danish family. I have never tasted elderberry juice before so have nothing to compare it with, but my own opinion is that it’s pleasant enough but rather bland in comparison to the heady perfume of the flower juice. Nevertheless, the berry juice is bursting with vitamins, so I’m told, so at least I should be free from the winter sniffles.

The change of season has triggered a change of diet in our house and we’ve started digging out all the comfort-food recipes that are perfect for a cosy night in. I am a foodie who married a foodie and we have been feasting like kings. I did a traditional British Sunday roast at the weekend which I am pleased to report was devoured with gusto by my Scandinavian family.

Around this time of year the Danes start going into a form of hibernation which means they retreat into their homes and won’t be seen again until around early March. They are drawn by a vital element of Danish culture which although present the whole year round really comes into it’s own in the dark months of autumn and winter: hygge. Hygge has no direct translation into English but after some research I can equate it as being a distant cousin of ‘craic/crack’. Hygge is cosiness and/or a good feeling one can experience either alone or in a group. The Danes are very proud of hygge and claim it as their own but I reckon the Scottish Highlanders can give them a good run for their money!

So, in order to get the most out of my forthcoming indoor incarceration I have assembled my own hygge-kit:

Icelandic wool blanket (felted)

Hand-knitted woollen jumper (a cuddle made of wool)

Hand-knitted woollen shawl (an extra cuddle if required)

Current knitting project (alpaca)

Reading material (Danish and English)

Tea (Tetley, of course)

Candles (essential)

Sheepskin (I am married to a Viking…)

And, continuing the Viking theme…

As well as that, my husband has just taken delivery of a whole stack of movies so if my blog posts begin to wane, you’ll know why!

Fra hyldebær til hygge

 Nætterne kommer tidligere, og vejret bliver virkelig skotsk, dvs. gråt og regnfuldt. Til trods for det lykkes det for solen at skinne fra tid til anden, og selv om lyset er dæmpet, glimter de modne bær som ædelstene. Så meget, at jeg faktisk ikke kunne modstå trangen til at plukke hyldebærrene, der har fristet mig i flere uger.

Hvis hyldeblomstsaft byder velkommen til sommeren, så indvarsler hyldebærsaft indgangen til efteråret. Sidste uge gik jeg i gang med at lave min egen hyldebærsaft, som min danske familie har udråbt som en succes. Jeg har aldrig før smagt hyldebærsaft, og jeg synes, det er behageligt nok men lidt intetsigende, når det sammenlignes med den berusende duft af hyldeblomstsaften. Ikke desto mindre er bærsaften propfuld af vitaminer, har jeg fået at vide, så jeg skal i det mindste være fri for vintersnue.

Skiftet i årstiden har sat gang i et skift i kosten hos os, og vi er begyndt at grave alle hyggemadsopskrifterne frem, der er perfekt til en hyggelig aften hjemme. Jeg er en madinteresseret person, som er gift med en anden madinteresseret person, og vi spiser som konger og baroner. I weekenden lavede jeg en traditionel britisk søndagssteg, og jeg er glad for at sige, at den blev slugt med stor iver af min skandinaviske familie.

Omkring denne tid på året forbereder danskere sig på en slags overvintring, der betyder, at de trækker sig ind i deres boliger og skal ikke ses igen før tidligst til marts. De bliver draget af et absolut nødvendigt element i dansk kultur, der, selv om det er til stede hele året, virkelig kommer til sin ret i de mørke måneder af efteråret og vinteren. Det er nemlig hygge. Hygge kan ikke oversættes til engelsk, men efter nogen forskning kan jeg sætte det lig med craic, som er en fjern kusine. Danskerne er stolte af hygge og fremsætter krav om, at det er deres egen, men jeg er sikker på, at de skotske højlændere kan give dem hård konkurrence!

Så for at få det mest mulige ud af min indendørs-indespærring har jeg samlet mit eget hygge-udstyr:

 Islandsk uldtæppe (filtet)

Håndstrikket uldtrøje (et kram lavet af uld)

Håndstrikket uldsjal (et ekstra kram om nødvendigt)

Nuværende strikketøj (alpaca)

Læsning-materiale (engelsk og dansk)

Te (Tetley selvfølgelig)

Stearinlys (absolut nødvendigt)

Fåreskind (jeg er gift med en viking…)

Og fortsætter med vikingetemaet…

Desuden har min mand lige modtaget en masse film, så hvis mine blog posts bliver færre, ved du hvorfor!

3 Responses to “From hyldebær to hygge”

  1. Sheena Gordon October 8, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Could it not be related to hugga – hug? x

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fa la la la laaaa, la la la laaaa! « I'll say when! - December 21, 2012

    […] is a lot of hygge at Christmas time in Denmark, and making your own julepynt (Christmas decorations) is high on the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

