A Tale of Two Cities

5 Nov

 

It was with great excitement I recently boarded a plane taking me back to Scotland, and more precisely to my beloved Glasgow.

 When I first laid eyes on Glasgow it wasn’t exactly love at first sight but during the 15 years I spent living and working there I came to look past the rough exterior and see the warm heart that pulses through the city.

Glaswegians are fantastic people with a sense of humour second to none (check out Kevin Bridges and Billy Connolly – watch out, he swears!). Even on the most dismal day, of which there are many – it rains A LOT in Glasgow! – a walk through the city centre is guaranteed to put a smile on my face.

So when my dear bride-to-be friend sent word that her bridesmaids-to-be were to assemble for operation Find-the-Bridesmaids’-Dress, we needed no persuading!

In two very busy days we not only managed to find a dress which suited us all, that we all liked (nothing short of a miracle, I can tell you!), but also managed to fit in a fair amount of cocktail drinking, good food and a whole lot of shopping, the memories of which I’ll be dining out on for quite some time.

On my return to Denmark I went through some weeks of feeling nostalgic and restless, thinking of the city which was my first love. It wasn’t until one of my British friends who lives here in Odense said that he’d be going back to live in the UK beause his work contract had finished that I realised how sad I would be to leave. It really made me stop and take notice of all the good things in this very beautiful city.

Odense is one third the size of Glasgow but the two cities have a lot in common. For instance both have a river at their heart and more green spaces than you can shake a stick at.

There are, of course, many differences and perhaps I’ve been guilty of focusing too much on those instead of giving Odense a chance to really be mine. It will take time, but I’m sure I can build a connection with Odense just as strong as the one I have with Glasgow.

 

En fortælling om to byer

Det var med stor spænding, at jeg for nylig steg ind i en flymaskine, der bragte mig tilbage til Skotland og mit elskede Glasgow.

Da jeg første gang betragtede Glasgow, var det ikke lige præcis kærlighed ved første blik. Men i løbet af de 15 år, jeg levede og arbejdede der, kom jeg til at se bort fra det rå ydre og se det varme hjerte, der pulserer i storbyen.

Glaswegians er fantastiske mennesker, der har en humoristisk sans, som er det bedste af det bedste (prøv at se Kevin Bridges og Billy Connolly). Selv på den mest nedtrykkende dag, af hvilke der er mange – det regner MEGET i Glasgow! – vil en gåtur igennem centrum garanteret give smil på læben.

Så da min kære vordende-brud-veninde sendte besked om, at hendes brudepiger skulle samles, havde vi ikke noget behov for at blive overtalt!

I løbet af to meget travle dage klarede vi ikke kun at finde en kjole, der passede til os alle, og som vi alle kunne lide (det var mirakuløst, må jeg sige!), men vi fik også tid til at drikke cocktails, spise god mad og gå i mange butikker, hvilket jeg vil huske i lang tid.

Efter jeg kom tilbage til Danmark, tilbragte jeg megen tid med at føle mig nostalgisk og urolig og tænkte på storbyen, der var min første kærlighed. Det var ikke før én af mine britiske venner, der bor her i Odense, sagde, at han skulle tilbage til UK, da hans ansettelsesaftale var slut, at det gik op for mig, hvor ked af det jeg ville være, hvis jeg skulle rejse tilbage. Det fik mig til at stoppe op og lægge mærke til alle de gode ting i denne meget smukke by.

Odense er en trediedel af størrelsen af Glasgow, men de to byer har meget til fælles. For eksempel er de bygget omkring en å og har flere grønne steder, end man kan tælle. Der er selvfølgelig mange forskelle, og måske er det min egen skyld, at jeg fokuserer for meget på dem i stedet for at give Odense chancen for at blive min. Det tager tid, men jeg er sikker på, at jeg kan lave en forbindelse til Odense,  der er lige så stærk som den, jeg har til Glasgow.

Leave a Reply

