To be or not to be me…

16 Feb

I must be getting old. The other morning my husband and I drove past a young woman, out for a bracing walk in the snow-covered landscape in a temperature of -3º. My instant comment was,”She must be freezing!” You see, the young lady in question was hatless. Leaving the house without a hat has become as unthinkable to me as, when I lived in Glasgow, leaving the house without an umbrella.

HatsMy present hat collection

This change of outlook has occurred surreptitiously and I must admit to being a bit shocked. I’m now a bit scared that I’m becoming Danish-ized without being aware of it. Deprived of my brother’s ruthless mickey-taking (which was previously themed around my alleged development of a Glaswegian accent) on regular visits to the familial home, how am I to tell if I’m now adopting random Danish-isms? Will I start referring to children as skat, friends as søde and dispensing with first names entirely?

On a recent night out with my British buddies, we encountered a very drunk Danish man who joined our group. He proceeded to converse with us in English, which was highly impressive given the level of his intoxication. He was very surprised, however, when at one point we said something to him in Danish and furthermore informed him that we were quite capable of speaking Danish but were actually choosing not to.

WhiskyUndeniable Scottish heritage

I seem to be at a point in my Danish residency where I’m having to make a lot of choices with regard to my lifestyle and identity. Being a foreigner forces you think about who you really are and what is important to you. What is it that makes me who I am? What will I take with me from my Scottish roots and how much will I adapt to life in Denmark?

Tetley

Proper tea – courtesy of Sally, my Fairy Godmother

It’s a bit of a balancing act and sometimes I need a safety net. But for now, I’m taking comfort in the fact that since spring and winter are currently co-existing in Denmark to a fairly harmonious degree, so can I.

Sparkly yellow flowers

 At være eller ikke at være mig…

Det må være fordi, jeg er ved at blive gammel. Forleden morgen kørte min mand og jeg forbi en ung dame, der var ude på en gåtur igennem det sne dækkede landskab på minus 3 grader. Med det samme sagde jeg: “Hun fryser sikkert!” Ser du, den unge dame var uden hue. Det at gå uden for huset uden hue er for mig blevet lige så utænkeligt, som da jeg boede i Glasgow, at gå uden for huset uden paraply.

Dette syn på tingene er sket uden, at jeg lagde mærke til det, og det kom helt bag på mig. Jeg er nu lidt bange for, at jeg bliver dansk-mæssig uden min opmærksomhed. Uden hjælp fra min bror, der ubarmhjertigt lavede grin med mig (fordi han mente, at jeg havde tillagt mig en Glasgow-accent), da jeg var på besøg hos mine forældre, hvordan kommer jeg til at vide, om jeg tager tilfældige dansk-ismer op? Begynder jeg at kalde børn for ‛skat‛ og veninder for ‛søde‛ og lade være med at bruge fornavne overhovedet?

For nylig var jeg ude en aften med mine britiske venner, da vi mødte en fuld Dansk mand, der kom hen til vores gruppe. Han snakkede med os på engelsk, som var meget imponerende i betragtning af, hvor meget han havde fået at drikke! Han var alligevel overrasket, da vi på et eller andet tidspunkt sagde noget til ham på dansk, og oven i købet fik han at vide, at det var vi dygtige til, men valgte bare ikke at gøre det.

Det ser ud til, at jeg er på et tidspunkt af mit ophold i Danmark, hvor jeg er nødt til at foretage nogle valg, der handler om min livsstil og identitet. Det at være udlænding tvinger en til at tænke over, hvem man virkelig er, og hvad man synes er vigtigt. Hvad er det, der gør mig til den, jeg er? Hvad tager jeg med fra mine skotske rødder, og hvor meget skal jeg tilpasse mig til livet i Danmark?

Det bliver noget af en balanceakt, og nogle gange har jeg brug for et sikkerhedsnet. Men foreløbig finder jeg trøst i dette faktum: Da foråret og vinteren for øjeblikket eksisterer nogenlunde harmonisk sammen, kan jeg også gøre det.

Yellow flowers

Leave a Reply

