It’s no weather for spring…

20 Mar

Bridge“Beware the Ides of March,” said Shakespeare. “Beware the snowstorms this week,” said the Danish Meteorological Intsitute. We are now safely past the 15th of March so the first warning can now safely be discounted, but the second is still very much in force.

Garden 1
Garden 3

We have officially entered spring but the birds and I are a bit confused: they are nesting and I am spring cleaning. Natrual instinct can’t be denied but it’s taking place against a backdrop of snow/wind/sunshine/warmth/cold. In throwing open the windows, instead of fresh air I’d be letting in a raging blizzard. It just feels a bit wrong. I do take comfort in the knowledge that I’m not alone, though, as even the ice-cream shack has opened – albeit a little prematurely, perhaps.

Skovsøen

There was one day, not long after the official beginning of spring, where it was actually properly warm and felt like the beginning of things to come.

Goldfinch in treeCharged up by the large amount of sunlight, I cleared out the greenhouse a bit and even felt sufficiently confident in the continuation of the good weather to put the pots outside.

Greenhouse1

Greenhouse2

Mostly it was just an excuse to be in the garden and enjoy the flowers.

Erantis carpetBack in the autumn I spent hours planting bulbs with the hope that come spring I’d have carpets of lovely flowers to look at. Due to the topsy turvy weather, the carpet is unfortunately thus far more like a patchy collection of threadbare rugs.

Gronirsk in crocusesI am, however, a hopeful soul, and I know that even if things don’t really work out as I had originally intended this year, the bulbs are there now and will be more than ready for next year.

Crocus carpet

Sadly, the good weather didn’t last and the constant shifts in weather and season have left me in no-man’s-land: I can’t properly get started with spring nor finished with winter.

Erantis frostWith only two weeks left to go before the clocks go forward and summer time officially starts, I’m starting to think that spring will in fact have been completely sprung over this year.

Thermometer warm

Thermometer cold

I know I’m the one who loves winter above all the other seasons, but I am craving the feeling of warm sunshine on my skin, even if it’s through a protective field of sunblock factor 50. In the meantime, my snow-boots stand poised…

Snow boots

Det er her det sner

Chaffy

Foråret er officielt begyndt, men fuglene og jeg er lidt forvirret: De bygger reder, og jeg gør forårsrent. Et naturligt instinkt kan ikke fornægtes, men det sker på baggrund af sne/vind/solskin/varme/kulde. I stedet for at åbne vinduerne for at lukke frisk luft ind, skulle jeg snarere lukke en rasende snestorm ind. Det virker lidt forkert. Jeg finder dog trøst i en viden om, at jeg ikke er alene, for selv is huset er åbent – skønt lidt for tidligt måske.

Skovsøen

Ikke længe efter forårets officielle begyndelse var der en dag, da det faktisk var ordentligt varmt og virkede som begyndelsen af ting, der kommer. Jeg var opfyldt af det store mængde af solskin og ryddede lidt op i drivhuset. Jeg var endda sikker nok på forlængelsen af det gode vejr til at sætte potterne udenfor. Det var for det meste bare en undskyldning for at være i haven og at nyde blomsterne.

CrocusesTilbage i efteråret tilbragte jeg mange timer med at plante løgblomster i håbet om at få et tæppe af flotte blomster i foråret. På grund af det ændrede vejr ligner tæppet egentlig en samling af luvslidte kamintæpper. Men jeg er en håbefuld sjæl, og jeg ved, at selv om ting måske ikke udvikler sig, som jeg oprindelig havde troet, er løgblomsterne stadigvæk dér og er mere end parate til næste år.

Snowdrops

Med det bestandige ustadige vejr og årstider befinder jeg mig i ingenmandsland: Jeg kan hverken begynde på foråret eller blive færdig med vinteren. Med kun to uger til uret stilles frem til den officielle begyndelse af sommertid, begynder jeg at tro på, at foråret faktisk er sprunget dette år over.

Garden 2

Jeg ved, at jeg er én, der elsker vinteren over alle de andre årstider, men jeg tørster efter varmt solskin på min hud, selv om det er igennem et område af solcreme med beskyttelsesfaktor 50. I mellemtiden står mine skistøvler klar…

Snow boots

Leave a Reply

