Life is a Dream

9 Apr

Road trip
I am a dreamer. In my daily life I will happily spend many hours in fantasy-land, which might go some way to explaining the vacant expression that’s on my face a lot of the time. If you speak to me and I don’t respond, don’t be offended: It’s just that I might be very busy designing my (fantasy) office or choosing an outfit for the (fantasy) cocktail party I’ll be attending that evening.

The new lifestyle I have settled into here in Denmark is quite opposite to my previous one in Scotland, and certainly one I couldn’t have imagined for myself even 5 years ago, and my fantasy-filled existence is fuelled by the reality of living and being in a foreign country. With all the demands that go with creating a new life for myself here, I’m developing a temperament which would rival even the most demanding diva. I blame this on my main survival technique of pretending that I’m the leading lady in the film of my life and therefore quite entitled to throw a strop from time to time.

Ice cream houses

I don’t know what it is but there’s something about Odense that makes me feel like I’m in a film. A lot of it is to do with the incredible variety of architecture which is to be found within such a small area. You can go from old world to up to the minute contemporary in only a matter of a few kilometers.

DFLHavn lejligheder

As I’ve mentioned in earlier posts my main mode of transport is my bike, although I had previously mainly associated cycling with films. This is mostly because where I lived in Scotland was too hilly, wet, windy and dangerous for cyling in real life. But when you throw in miles of flat cycle path, some nice parks, a few picutresque buildings and a notable lack of rain, as it is in Odense, I feel like I’m in some college film set in the USA, circa 1970.

 Palace

There are actually a couple of places that give me the creeps – but in a fun way! I frequently cycle (as quickly as possible) past a little village which always makes me think of Stephen King novels. I’m convinced these little wooden horses are going to come alive at any minute.

Horses Not only that, but they’re in a wood right next to a church that could be in The Omen

Church

Fortunately, as something of a counter-measure to all the horror film type of scenery, Odense is the birthplace of Hans Christian Andersen and in tribute to the city’s most famous son they have erected lots of statues themed on his fairytales all around the city. It lends a kind of whimsical air to the place and constantly reminds me of my very happy childhood.

The Emperor's New Clothes

The Emperor’s New Clothes

The Chimney Sweep and the Shepherdess

The Shepherdess and the Chimney Sweep

Over the years I’ve come to cherish my imagination and all the dreams I have. They have led to many out-of-the-ordinary experiences, including meeting my husband in the most unlikely of circumstances and then moving to a country I knew nothing about! It seems highly unlikely that I’m about to stop dreaming any time soon and I can’t wait to find out where the next chapter of my life will lead.

Beach house

Livet er en drøm

Jeg er en drømmer. I dagligdagen vil jeg med glæde tilbringe mange timer i en fantasiverden. Det er måske forklaringen på det tomme udtryk i mit ansigt. Hvis du siger noget til mig og ikke får noget svar, skal du ikke blive forarget. Det er bare fordi, at jeg måske har travlt med at designe mit (fantasy) kontor eller at vælge tøj til (fantasy) cocktailpartyet, jeg tager hen til denne aften.

Den nye livsstil, jeg har sat mig ind i i Danmark, er modsat den tidligere i Skotland. Det er ikke noget, jeg kunne have forestillet mig selv for 5 år siden, og min fantasifulde eksistens giver næring til realiteten af at bo og være i et fremmed land. På grund af krav, der er stillet med at skabe en ny måde at leve på, udvikler jeg et temperement, der kan konkurrere med selv den mest lunefulde diva. Det skyldes min hoved-overlevelse-teknik: Det at lade som om jeg har hovedrollen i filmen om mit liv, og derfor har jeg lov til at have et raserianfald fra tid til anden.

Jeg ved ikke, hvad det er, men der er noget ved Odense, der virker, som om jeg lever i en film. Det drejer sig for det meste om arkitekturen og de mange forskellige variationer, der findes i så lille et område. Det skifter fra gammeldags til meget moderne på kun få kilometer.

 In the City1

Som nævnte i tidligere posts er min cykel mit primære transportmiddel, og jeg forbinder det at cykle med film. Det er fordi, at der, hvor jeg boede i Skotland, var der for vådt, der var for mange bakker, det blæste for meget, og det var for farligt at cykle. Men når der er mange kilometer af flade cykelstier, smukke parker, maleriske bygninger og en bemærkelsesværdig mangel på regnvejr, føler jeg, som om jeg bevæger mig rundt i en eller anden Hollywood-kulisse.

Der er faktisk et par steder, som giver mig myrekryb – men kun for sjov! Jeg cykler tit (så hurtigt som muligt) forbi en lille landsby, som får mig til at tænke på Stephen King-bøger. Jeg er overbevist om, at disse små træheste skal komme til live  hvert øjeblik, det skal være.

HorsesUd over dét står de i en skov lige ved siden af en kirke, som kunne have været i The Omen

Church

Heldigvis, som et modtræk til al den slags gyserfilm-sceneri, er Odense fødestedet for H.C. Andersen, og i anerkendelse af deres mest berømte søn har de opsat flere statuer omkring i byen, der er inspireret af hans eventyr. Det giver et snurrigt udtryk til stedet og minder mig om min egen lykkelige barndom.

Thumbelina

Tornerose

Gennem årene er jeg kommet til at sætte pris på min fantasi og alle drømmene, jeg har. De har ført til mange usædvanlige oplevelser, deriblandt dét at møde min mand ved det mest usandsynlige tilfælde og bagefter at flytte til et land, jeg ikke vidste noget om – og heller ikke sproget! Det virker usandsynligt, at jeg er ved at holde op med at drømme, og jeg glæder mig til at finde ud af, hvor det næste kapitel af mit liv skal bringe mig hen.

2 Responses to “Life is a Dream”

  1. Beesas April 10, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    🙂

    Like

  2. Sheena Gordon April 10, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Sigh…. Lovely to see you so happy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

