Blossoming

22 May

Pink RhoddyOur garden is in full bloom, and I’m talking FULL bloom! It seems that every flower-bearing plant has fully recovered from the extreme pruning I subjected it to 2 years ago. Every morning I take a walk round to see which flowers have appeared since the day before, and there is always something new. I can’t begin to describe the joy it gives me to finally have a garden that is not only fairly tidy and mostly under control but also full of colour and humming with the sound of bumble bees. Even the designated ‘wilderness area’ is looking fantastic!

Forget me notsI’ll admit that it has been a long struggle and in the beginning my work was mostly cutting back and removing things in a seemingly futile attempt at restoring order, and at times I doubted it would ever recover. Happily, the (rather late!) arrival of spring has brought with it a return to what I imagine is close to the former glory of our lovely garden, but this time with a few additions bearing my own stamp.

Sunshine tulips2The bursting into life of the garden coincides with a bit of a turn of events in my own life, and I view the garden as a rather vivid metaphor for my own state of mind since moving to Denmark.

Cherry & White RhoddyI’ve been living here for nearly 2 ½ years now, and in that time it has felt like I’ve had to fight for each step I’ve taken. At first every single thing was difficult. I felt like I had been stripped of my identity and had to start all over again in every aspect of my life. It was exhausting. Even something as simple as posting a letter seemed like an insurmountable task. In such circumstances one is forced to adopt a certain mindset, and for me it was about mental survival on a day to day basis if only to keep from having some kind of breakdown. From the beginning I was convinced that the key to really having a life here was to learn the language. Thoroughly.

White tulipBeing a hard-working sort, I’ve kept my head down and given it all I’ve got in my attempts to learn the language, and for a long time I felt that I wasn’t getting anywhere. Anyone who’s tried to learn Danish will understand how frustrating it is, when for many aspects of the language there are no rules, and many things you just have to learn. But slowly, slowly it has been filtering in, and somehow I now have no problem watching Swedish crime series with Danish subtitles or attending lectures (in Danish) about the Danish welfare system.

White blossomThe change occurred so gradually and so slowly that I hadn’t even noticed. It was only on a recent visit to Glasgow that my world was turned upside down and the realisation hit me: my home is in Denmark. Walking the streets of Glasgow city centre, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I don’t belong there any more and on an evening out with some very lovely people I knew before, I spent the whole night feeling like I was in a bubble. I faced the often asked question, “How’s it going in Denmark?” In the interests of not boring folk, I distilled the biggest and most challenging event of my life into a single sentence: “It’s going great!” While this is true, it doesn’t completely cover it.

Sunshine tulipsBut my return to Denmark really was a home-coming. After a weekend of speaking English, I slipped back into Danish like pulling on an old pair of jeans: familiar and comfortable. On making my way back to Odense from the airport I had literally just got off the train when I bumped into a friend. For me, there’s nothing like coincidentally meeting a familiar face to make me feel I have roots in a place. But the icing on the cake was when I arrived at my in-laws’ place for lunch: A Danish flag stood outside the froont door welcoming me home, and my normally slightly reserved father-in-law greeted me with a big hug.

Red tulip blurLater that evening, when I got back to my garden it had transformed into the heady display of colour and perfume that is still going strong right now.

HawthornLike the plants in our garden, the outer foliage of my previous life has been stripped back to a degree which, although seemingly drastic at the time, was necessary and has ultimately been a good thing. It was tough, but I’m now buzzing with renewed vigour and lust for life. If my garden is a reflection of myself, then the future is looking pretty damned fine!

Tulips etc

Blomstrende

Vores have står i fuldt flor, og jeg mener FULDT flor! Det ser ud, som om, hver plante, der har mulighed for det, har blomster på. Den er fuldstændig kommet sig efter den voldsomme beskæring, jeg udsatte den for for to år siden. Hver morgen går jeg en lille tur rundt for at se, hvilke nye blomster der er dukket op siden den foregående dag, og der er altid noget nyt. Jeg kan ikke beskrive glæden, det giver mig, endelig at have en have, som ikke kun er nogenlunde ordentlig og for det meste under kontrol, men også er fuld af farve og vrimler med lyden af humlebier. Selv det udpegede ‘vildnis-område’ ser fantastisk ud!

WildernessJeg må indrømme, at det har været en lang kamp, og i begyndelsen bestod mit arbejde mest i at skære tilbage og fjerne ting i et tilsyneladende forgæves forsøg på at skabe orden, og nogle gange tvivlede jeg på, om det nogensinde ville komme igen. Heldigvis har den (lidt forsinkede!) ankomst af foråret bragt med sig en tilbagevenden til, hvad, jeg forestiller mig, ligger tæt på vores dejlige haves tidligere pragt. Denne gang med nogle få tilføjelser, der bærer mit eget fingeraftryk.

Yellow tulips2At livet i haven genopstår, falder sammen med et lille stykke af en forandring i mit liv, og jeg betragter haven, som en ganske livagtig metafor på min egen sindsstemning, siden jeg flyttede til Danmark.

Jeg har boet her i næsten 2 1/2 år, og i løbet af den tid har det føltes, som om, jeg har været nødt til at kæmpe for hver skridt, jeg har taget. Til at begynde med var hver eneste ting svær. Jeg følte det, som om jeg havde haft krænget min identitet af og skulle begynde helt forfra igen på enhver side af mit liv. Det var besværligt. Selv noget så enkelt som at sende et brev forekom mig at være en uoverstigelig opgave. Under disse omstændigheder er man tvunget til at tilegne sig en bestemt tænkemåde, og for mig handlede det om mental overlevelse fra dag til dag, om ikke andet så for at undgå en slags sammenbrud. Fra begyndelsen var jeg overbevist om, at nøglen til virkelig at få en tilværelse her var at lære sproget – til bunds.

White rhoddiesSom en, der arbejder hårdt, gjorde jeg mig umage og gav den fuld gas i forsøget på at lære sproget, og i lang tid følte jeg, at jeg ikke kom ud af stedet. Enhver, som har prøvet at lære dansk, vil kunne forstå, hvor frustrerende det er, når der på mange områder af sproget ikke er regler, og der er mange ting, man bare skal lære. Men ganske langsomt er det sevet ind, og på en eller anden måde har jeg ingen problemer med at se svenske krimier med danske undertekster eller at følge med i foredrag (på dansk) om det danske velfærdssystem.

PosyÆndringen indtraf så gradvis og så langsomt, så jeg lagde slet ikke mærke til det. Det var blot under et besøg til Glasgow for nylig, at min verden blev vendt på hovedet, og erkendelsen slog mig: Mit hjem er i Danmark. Mens jeg gik gennem gadene i Glasgows centrum, kunne jeg ikke ryste den fornemmelse af mig, at jeg ikke hører til der længere. En aften, da jeg var i byen med nogle dejlige mennesker, som jeg kendte i forvejen, tilbragte jeg hele aftenen med en følelse af at være i en boble. Jeg blev mødt med det ofte stillede spørgsmål: “Hvordan går det i Danmark?” Da jeg ikke ville kede folk, sammentrængte jeg den største og mest udfordrende begivenhed i mit liv til en enkelt sætning: “Det går fint!” Skønt dette er sandt, dækker det det ikke rigtigt.

Pink Rhoddy bushMen at rejse tilbage til Danmark var virkelig en hjemkomst. Efter en weekend, da jeg havde talt engelsk, smuttede jeg nemt tilbage til dansk. Det var lige som at tage et par gamle jeans på: fortroligt og behageligt. Som en del af rejsen tilbage til Odense fra lufthavnen var jeg bogstavelig talt netop stået af toget, da jeg stødte ind i en veninde. For mig er der ingenting som tilfældigvis at møde et kendt ansigt, der får mig til at føle, at her har jeg rod. Men toppen af kransekagen var, da jeg ankom til mine svigerforældre til frokost: Et dansk flag stod uden for hoveddøren og bød mig velkommen hjem, og min almindeligvis lettere reserverede svigerfar hilste mig med et stort kram.

Magnolia TreeSenere samme aften, da jeg kom tilbage til min have, havde den ændret sig til en berusende opvisning af farve og duft, som er fortsat indtil nu.

Grape hyacinthLige som planterne i vores have er dækbladene fra mit tildigere liv krænget tilbage i et omfang, som, selv om det føltes drastisk på det tidspunkt, var nødvendigt og i sidste ende har været en god ting. Det var hårdt, men nu summer jeg med fornyet kraft og appetit på livet. Hvis min have er et spejlbillede af mig selv, så ser fremtiden skidegodt ud!

Apple Tree

4 Responses to “Blossoming”

  1. Katrina May 27, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Your garden metaphor has given me a great big smile this evening. Thanks! So glad you are enjoying your happily ever after. One day I hope we will visit your beautiful garden. 🙂 Xx

    Like

    • Beesas May 28, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Thank you all for the lovely comments! You are all of course welcome any time 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. Sheena Gordon May 23, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    It was well worth the trip to Glasgow to find that out! BEAUTIFUL garden! X

    Like

  3. Michelle May 22, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    Your garden looks great and I am happy you have blossomed too. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

