The Art of Appreciation

11 Jul

RoseThroughout the day I’ve become accustomed to the smell of sun-warmed skin and suncream, and now and then an occasional puff of overripe strawberries and rose. But it’s at night time when the most tantalizing scent of them all is to be found: honeysuckle. After the burning heat of daytime there’s a still and dewy dusk when the honeysuckle blossoms release tendrils of ethereal perfume. It’s a narcotic for the soul, made all the more addictive due to it’s transience, and no matter how much I get I always want more.

Honeysuckle 2Summer in Denmark offers stimulation for all the senses, both natural and man-made. It’s always with a degree of reluctance I leave my little paradise of home and garden, but having read about an exhibition by Tara Donovan at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, a jewel-in-the-crown of Danish galleries, my appetite for art was whetted and I just had to see it for myself. So, in the good company of my culturally like-minded friend, Simply Stylish Mom, I left the island of Funen and headed for the distant mirage of Louisiana, just north of Copenhagen.

Sculpture reflectionThe gallery building itself is rather beautiful and set in several acres of surrounding grounds, right on the coast of Denmark, overlooking the water to Sweden. Being wise ladies, we had had decided to allow ourselves the whole day to spend at Louisiana before catching the train home, so we had plenty of time to enjoy all Louisiana had to offer, inside and out. While I am no expert in art, I need it in my life and am particularly drawn to works from around 1900 up to the present day. I’m also a big fan of Danish design and when these two elements come together in such perfect alignment as they do at Louisiana, I’m completely in my element.

CorridorTara Donovan’s work was sensuous and fascinating, and even more fantastic than I had imagined it to be. Of course, photography is forbidden in the gallery, but you can see photos of the exhibition and other works by Donovan if you search on the internet. Suffice it to say, the pictures don’t do the works justice, and I would strongly recommend seeing them in real life if you get the chance.

Sculpture with boatsSSM and I are practical as well as cultural ladies, and we had brought a picnic of delicious fare to enoy in the tranquil and inspiring surroundings of the scultpure park housed within Louisiana’s grounds, and we whiled away the day appreciating, eating, drinking and being happy.

PondIt was a fantastic day and SSM and I have already planned our next cultural escape, but more on that another time. Until then I shall be content with pottering about in my olfactory oasis of rose, strawberries and honeysuckle blossom.

Kunsten at holde af

StrawberriesI løbet af dagen er jeg blevet vant til duften af sol-opvarmet hud og solcreme og fra tid til anden et sjældent pust af overmodne jordbær og roser. Men ved nattetide findes den allermest fristende duft: kaprifolien. Efter dagens brændende varme er der en stille og dugvåd skumring, når kaprifolieblomsterne slipper slyngtråde af æterisk parfume løs. For sjælen er den narkotikum, som er endnu mere afhængighedsskabende pga. dens forbigående virkning. Uanset hvor meget jeg får, ønsker jeg altid mere.

HoneysuckleSommeren i Danmark tilbyder stimulanser både naturlige og menneskeskabte til alle sanserne. Det er altid med lidt modvillighed, at jeg forlader mit lille paradis af hus og have. Imidlertid – efter jeg læste om en kunstudstilling lavet af Tara DonovanLouisiana Museum of Modern Art – blev min appetit på kunst vakt, og jeg blev nødt til at se den selv. Så i selskab med min ligesindede veninde, Simply Stylish Mom, forlod jeg øen Fyn mod den fjerne luftspejling, der er Louisiana.

Back entranceGalleribygningen selv er ganske flot og dækker flere kvadratkilometer jord, lige ved kysten af Danmark over for Sverige. Fordi vi er kloge damer, havde vi besluttet os for at tilbringe hele dagen på Louisiana, før vi skulle tage toget hjem. Af den grund havde vi masser af tid til at nyde alt, hvad Louisiana tilbød, både inde og ude. Selv om jeg ikke er ekspert i kunst, sætter jeg stor pris på den og er særlig tiltrukket af kunstværker fra omkring 1900 til og med i dag. Jeg er også en stor beundrer af Danish-design, og når de to elementer kommer sammen så perfekt placeret, som de er på Louisiana, er jeg fuldstændig i mit es.

Sculpture park viewKunstværkerne af Tara Donovan var sanselige og fascinerende, og de var endnu mere vidunderlige, end jeg havde forestillet mig. Selvfølgelig er fotografering forbudt i galleriet, men man kan se billeder af udstillingen og andre kunstværker af Donovan, hvis man søger på nettet. Lad det være nok at sige, at billederne ikke yder kunstværkerne fuld retfærdighed, og jeg vil varmt anbefale, at man ser dem i virkeligheden, hvis man får chancen.

Wish treeSSM og jeg er praktiske såvel som kulturelle damer, og vi havde medbragt mad, som vi kunne nyde i de fredelige og inspirerende omgivelser i skulpturparken, der står på Louisianas jord. Tiden gik, mens vi kiggede og beundrede, spiste, drak og var glade.

LouisianaDet var en fantastisk dag, og SSM og jeg har allerede planlagt vores næste kulturelle udflugt, men der kommer mere om det en anden gang. Indtil videre vil jeg være tilfreds med at nusse rundt i min lugt-oase blandt roserne, jorbærrene og kaprifolieblomsterne.

One Response to “The Art of Appreciation”

  1. simplystylishmom August 1, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    What a good, good day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

