The Eye of the Storm

21 Nov

It’s now been a month since my return from an extended stay in Scotland and quite a lot has happened in that time, but top of the list has to be the arrival of our new kittens! Finally I have reached a point in my life where my lifestyle and circumstances have converged, making conditions just right for getting pets. I grew up with animals and have always missed having them around since leaving home, so it was with great excitement that a few days ago my husband and I took home our kitties: Knud (the red) and Tippi (the black). I took advantage of an extremely brief catnap to get these pictures:

KnudTippi Normally they are fully engaged in  trying to destroy our furniture/each other and look more like this:

Fighting2Talking of destruction, not long after I got back, Denmark was hit by a severe storm, with recorded windspeeds of up to 193 km/h! I was impressed by some of the damage, such as to this road marker which was snapped by sheer force of the wind:

Road coneOur neighbours’ caravan didn’t fare so well, but at least that’s one less on the road…

Caravan Although a few trees had fallen, I was very pleased to see that my main route into town, ie the cycle path, had been tidied up in no time. The taxes might be high in Denmark, but you do see where the money goes.

Log truck The path was completely cleared and the debris very neatly stacked, and I was able to enjoy, unimpeded, a very pleasant trip into Odense on the first sunny day since my return.

RiverCloser to home, we thankfully managed to escape the storm fairly unscathed with no damage to our house, but we did inherit a tree!

Tree in gardenThe loss of light in our living room as a result of our new garden landscape moved my husband to act, and now it looks a bit more like this:

Tree afterAs perhaps something of a bonus side effect, the storm did a rather good job of removing a fair amount of posters adorned with candidates for the impending local elections, which have appeared like a rash all over the place, although they since have been replaced many times over.

Valg plakat1 The local elections have been my first chance to vote since moving to Denmark, but despite what The Killing or Borgen might lead you to believe,  real-life politcs in Denmark is much less dramatic/interesting. I did make an attempt to engage with it all, though, and my vote has now been cast.

PartiesThe major political parties in Denmark are refreshingly well-represented by women leaders, although interestingly they are all leading parties which are left of the middle, while the right-wing parties are led by men. I’ve read some articles which indicate that a suprising amount of Danes vote for candidates based on their appearance, but I would like to think that there’s a bit more to your average Dane than that. Either way, the election results will no doubt give plenty of food for thought over the next four years.

Stormens øje

Det er nu en måned siden, jeg kom tilbage fra et langt besøg i Skotland. Der er sket en hel masse i den tid, men det allervigtigste er ankomsten af vores nye killinger! Endelig har jeg nået et punkt i mit liv, hvor livsstilen og tilværelsen har fundet sammen, og omstændighederne er helt perfekte til at have kæledyr. Jeg voksede op omgivet af dyr og har altid savnet dem, så jeg var helt oppe at køre, da min mand og jeg hentede vores misser: Knud (den røde) og Tippi (den sorte). Jeg udnyttede en kort “morfar” til at tage disse billeder:

KnudTippiDe plejer at være helt optaget af at ødelægge vores møbler/hinanden og ser således ud:

Fighting1 Når vi nu snakker om skade. Ganske kort tid efter, jeg kom tilbage, blev Danmark ramt af en orkan med vindstød målt til 193 km/t. Jeg var forskrækket over skaden på forskellige ting som den her hundredmeterpæl, der simpelthen blev knækket af  vindens kraft:

Road coneVores genbos caravan klarede det ikke så godt, men i det mindste er der nu én færre på vejen…

Caravan Skønt nogle få træer var væltet, var jeg meget glad for, at min hovedvej ind til byen, cykelstien, blev ryddet på ingen tid. Ja, man betaler høj skat i Danmark, men man kan se, hvor pengene bliver brugt.

Truck2 Stien var helt ryddet, og resterne var pænt stablet op, og jeg nød en meget behagelig tur ind til byen på den første solskinsdag siden min hjemkomst fra Skotland.

Pile(Det er ikke mig på ckyklen!)

Path1Tættere hjemmepå slap vi heldigvis fra stormen uden skade på huset, selv om vi fik et ekstra træ i haven:

Tree in gardenSom resultat af vores nye haveudsigt mistede vi meget lys i stuen, og det fik min mand til at gå i krig, og nu ser det sådan ud:

Tree after En positiv bivirkning af stormen var, at flere valgplakater blev fjernet, men de har siden været erstattet mange gange.

Valg plakat3

Kommunalvalget er den første mulighed, jeg har haft for at stemme, siden jeg flyttede til Danmark, men til trods for det som Forbrydelsen og Borgen viser, er politik i virkeligheden iDanmark meget mindre interessant/dramatisk. Jeg prøvede dog at følge med, og jeg har stemt.

PartiesDe store partier i Danmark er godt repræsenteret af kvinder. Imidlertid er det interessant, at de kun er spidskandidater for partierne i den røde blok, mens den blå bloks spidskandidater er mænd. Jeg har læst flere artikler,  som peger på, at et overraskende stort antal danskere stemmer baseret alene på kanditaternes udseende. Jeg vil helst tro, at den gennemsnitlige dansker er klogere end som så, men hvorom alting er, resultaterne vil uden tvivl give stof til eftertanke i de næste fire år.

2 Responses to “The Eye of the Storm”

  1. Sheena Gordon November 21, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Nice to see you in electronic print again 🙂

    Like

    • Beesas November 21, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      It’s nice to be back! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

